Click Your Heels and Make a Wish

Darkness has swept over the land, but there is enough light for me to see my surroundings. The hills rising up to meet the clouded sky speak of familiarity. At first glance, I think I am in western Nebraska. On another family vacation to Colorado. But the landscape out the window quickly changes. White-walled houses buried in a valley, olive trees and vineyards climbing steep slopes, the faint outline of narrow cobbled stoned streets. I realize once again that I am in Italy. And that home is just a distant memory.

1

And while I am consumed with thoughts of my recent trip to the Amalfi Coast, I can’t help but think of the people I’ve left behind. Maybe it’s the music I’m listening to that’s encouraging this distracting reminiscing, a hint of something recognizable that’s causing this sadness. Even in the midst of this grand journey, no amount of enjoyable experiences can heal the ache of far away friends.

It seems that everyone in this study abroad program is feeling this way. We all have come to love Italy and don’t want to ever leave, though at the same time we are desperate to see our friends and families. The second we are back in the States we will miss this wonderful country, but now that the trip is nearing its end we can all hear the call of the familiar. And we can’t ignore it: we yearn too much for the comforts of home.

My family
My family
My friends
My friends
American food (mainly mac ‘n cheese & sweet potato fries)
American food (mainly mac ‘n cheese & sweet potato fries)

 They say that it’s the people who matter most and, unfortunately, they are right. It would be a whole lot easier if I could just live in an amazing place and instantly have a fulfilling life. But happiness is more than beautiful things and exciting novelties. It’s friendship and love and experiences. It doesn’t matter where you are. New York City, New Hampshire or Italy. Without people you care about, a place is just a place.

They say that home is where the heart is. Well if that’s true then my heart is already broken. Some pieces have remained in Nebraska, where I grew up; some lie in New Hampshire, my adopted home; and some will be left here in Ascoli, embedded in the memories I’ve made with the people I’ve come to know.

5

This girl has got it going on! And by that I mean she has compiled a wonderful list about what Americans miss while they’re abroad. I especially identify with #10 (COFFEE!!!).

Leave a comment